Home About SSA

About SSA

E-mail Print PDF

The Stroke Society of Australasia (SSA) was formed in 1989 by clinicians and researchers endeavouring to tackle the enormous burden of stroke in our community. The number of members has steadily increased to approximately 280.

Membership of the Stroke Society of Australasia is open to professionals working in the field of stroke, or in kindred fields, who have an active interest in the work and aims of the Society. Our current membership includes physicians (e.g. neurologists, geriatricians, rehabilitation specialists), other medical professionals, non-medical clinicians (e.g. nurses, physiotherapists, occupational therapists, psychologists), researchers (e.g. basic scientists, epidemiologists), and professionals from government and non-government organisations.

The Stroke Society of Australasia currently has two special interest groups. These are the Australasian Stroke Trial Network (ASTN) and the Australasian Stroke Unit Network (ASUN). Membership of both networks is open to members of the Stroke Society of Australasia. History and special interest groups

The SSA has strong ties with the National Stroke Foundation, as the two organisations share the common objective of overcoming the problem of stroke.

The main activities undertaken by the Stroke Society of Australasia include:

  • Conducting an annual scientific meeting. (Go to conferences and invited speakers)
  • Providing awards for New Investigators, members travelling overseas for stroke-related work, and acknowledging people who have championed stroke.
  • Providing input to guidelines on stroke care.
  • Contributing to the Australian Stroke Coalition.
  • Providing representation on federal and state committees which formulate government policy on stroke.
Last Updated ( Tuesday, 12 January 2010 11:53 )  

Registered Charity

Latest news

Top Views